Course Folders

Course Folders are designed to provide an instructor a flexible and secure data folder structure to enhance electronic posting and collection of course work documents. The creation of the folders is facilitated through the AIS Student Records\Student Grades interface.

The directory structure naming will start with the Year and Term (i.e. 2010 FALL) for each semester. The next level will be the Department Name that the course is offered under (i.e. DEPT). Next, the course name in the format of Course Number-Instructor-Time Class Meets (i.e. DEPT 534 INSTRUCTOR 500P MTWTH). The Course Folders naming convention is pre-defined based on the catalog names and cannot be modified.

Creating Course Folders:
Enter AIS with your logon credentials and then click on the Student Records icon in the left pane. In the right pane click on the Student Grades icon. 

Next, fill in the Term, Year and Instructional Code in the Grades window.

Fill in the Call No. of the course you would like to build folders for. Choose the Build Course Folders button.

Choose the options (described below) from the Build Course Folders window, and click OK.

Folder Structure Model:
Two different security models are available to choose from - Full Access and Restricted Access. Under each model only the course instructor and students enrolled in the course have access rights to that Course Folders structure.

    Full Access - This model provides the most open structure and flexibility. It allows the Instructor and students full rights to the entire Course Name folder structure. The instructor has the option of creating a sub-folder structure as they choose.

      Options:

      Generate Individual Student Folders - This will create an individual folder for each student enrolled in the course under the Student Folders sub-folder. The folder will be named with the student's eAccount ID. Under the Full Access model all students within the class will have full access to all student folders.

      Generate Student Course Dropbox - This will create a directory named Dropbox that allows a student to submit assignments to the instructor. The student can only modify/read the files they created but can see all file names. The instructor has full read/write privileges to the folder.

      Generate Student Group Folders - This will create a folder for under the Group Folders sub-folder with a designated name and selected group members.  Only group members will have access to the folder. Multiple group folders can be created and the group membership can be updated as needed. The name of the group folder is not updateable after the group folder has been created.

    Restricted Access - This model provides the most secure environment. With this model the Generate Individual Student Folders option is automatically selected and an additional directory named Common is generated. The Common folder is to allow the option of creating a sub-folder structure of the instructor's choosing. Under the Common folder, the naming convention is free form and all course users have full rights.

      Options:

      Generate Individual Student Folders - This option is automatically selected and will create an individual directory for each student enrolled in the course under the Student Folders sub-folder. The folder will be named with the student's eAccount ID. Under the Restricted Access model all students within the class will have access to only their named folder.

      Generate Student Course Dropbox - This will create a directory named Dropbox that allows a student to submit assignments to the instructor. The student can only modify/read the files they created but can see all file names. The instructor has full read/write privileges to the folder.

      Generate Student Group Folders - This will create a folder for under the Group Folders sub-folder with a designated name and selected group members.  Only group members will have access to the folder. Multiple group folders can be created and the group membership can be updated as needed. The name of the group folder is not updateable after the group folder has been created.

Updating course enrollment:

Enrollment changes during the drop/add period can be facilitated by accessing the same interface that was used to create the original structure.

Once a CourseFolders structure has been defined the options that were originally chosen are locked in and cannot be changed. The interface will show the options originally chosen and prompt to update the enrollment for the course. Clicking Update will add new students and student folders if that option was originally selected. Any students that have dropped the course will have their permissions removed.

Creating a Group Folder:

To create a group folder first check the Generate Student Group Folders check box and then click the Edit/Create button. After clicking the Edit/Create button the Build Group Folders window will appear. The Build Group Folders window contains two sections. The top section lists all of the previously created groups. Selecting a group in this section displays its membership in the lower section of the window. The bottom section of the window is the class list of students. Students within the class list that are members of the group have the member check box checked. You can sort the student list by clicking on the blue column names. To modify group membership, check or uncheck the member check box. The currently selected group has a red asterisk to left of the group name. You can update the group membership at any time, but you cannot update the name of group once it has been created. Group member have read, write, and delete access to all files and sub folders within the group folder. Removing a member from a group removes their access to the group folder.

The buttons at the bottom of the window allow manipulation of group membership, and adding and removing groups. The Mark All button adds all students to the group. The Clear button removes all students from the group. To add a new group, click the Add button, enter the name of the group in the empty name field in the top section of the window, and select the desired group members. The Delete button deletes a group added during the current session. Once the physical group folder has been created a group cannot be deleted. To delete a group select the group in top section of the window and click the delete button. The Undo button restores the current selected group’s membership to its initial state. The Update button applies all changes to the group folders. You must click the Update button to apply the changes. The Cancel button closes the dialog without applying any of the changes.

Archiving and Purging:

The original structure will remain for one complete academic year to accommodate any students with an incomplete in the course to finish. At the end of that cycle the folders will be purged (i.e. - the 2010 Fall folders will be deleted the week before 2010 Spring semester begins). For those instructors who would like to maintain their content past that period, archiving needs to take place before the purge occurs. Instructors can archive the CourseFolders structure for their course by copying the original structure to the Archive\Dept directory. The archive folder will remain online as long as drive space permits.