Colorado State University - Pueblo to induct 36 students into Phi Kappa Phi Honor Society

Colorado State University - Pueblo to induct 36 students into Phi Kappa Phi Honor Society

PUEBLO – Thirty-six Colorado State University – Pueblo students will be inducted into the  Honor Society of Phi Kappa Phi next week (May 1), according to City of Pueblo Fire Chief Christopher P. Riley, President of the CSU-Pueblo Phi Kappa Phi Chapter.

Founded in 1897 at the University of Maine, Phi Kappa Phi is the nation’s oldest, largest, and most selective all-discipline honor society. The Society’s mission is “to encourage, recognize, and promote superior scholarship in all fields of higher education and to engage the community of scholars in service to others.” Chief Riley will address the inductees as part of the ceremony that begins at 4 p.m. on Wednesday, May 1 in the Hasan School of Business Auditorium. 

The CSU-Pueblo Phi Kappa Phi Charter was approved by the national organization on Oct. 21, 1994, with the first initiation ceremony on April 10, 1995.

The organization is comprised of nearly 300 chapters located in the United States, Puerto Rico, and the Philippines, which together induct more than 30,000 members each year. Since the organization’s inception in 1897, more than one million scholars have joined the prestigious organization.

The standards for election to Phi Kappa Phi are higher than those of most other honor societies. Phi Kappa Phi elects to membership undergraduate and graduate students, faculty, and alumni. Undergraduate students are selected from the upper 10 percent of the senior class and the graduate level, and the upper 7.5 percent of the junior class. To be eligible, students must have completed at least 24 credit hours at CSU-Pueblo. In addition, juniors must be “last term” juniors, having completed a total of at least 72 credit hours of course work. Election to membership is by invitation only. Each chapter screens juniors, seniors, and graduate students for membership based upon their grade point averages and good character. Those who meet the national requirements are invited.

The 2013 inductees to CSU-Pueblo Chapter of Phi Kappa Phi are:

Gena Boydstun-Smith, Junior
Raquel Gibson-Ford, Junior
Summer Hogue, Senior
Bercu Johnson, Senior
Meribeth Neary, Junior
Tina Mask, Junior
Joseph Parada, Junior

Samantha Tallent, Junior

Suzanne Balkom, Junior
Chelsea Curl, Senior

Matthew Augerot, Junior
Valerie Clementi, Senior
Gregory Daurio, Senior
Molly Gerry, Senior
William Gonzales, Senior
Jeffrey Gunter, Senior
Stacy Herrera, Senior
Diana Humphries, Junior
Philipp Kreutzmann, Graduate
Kyle Lopez, Senior
Michael Martino, Junior
Kaylene Merrill, Junior
Claudia Pulfrey, Senior
Regina Stevens, Senior
Andrea Werth, Junior
James Whittaker, Junior
Joshlyn Wiley, Senior
Elizabeth Wilson, Senior

Jessica Crolley, Junior
Sarah Meador, Junior
Kallee Rassau, Junior
Taylor Smith, Junior
Jamie Thompson, Junior

Amy Delaney, Senior

Jessica Luoma, Senior

Stefan Bauer Guimaraes, Graduate

Colorado State University - Pueblo is a regional, comprehensive university emphasizing professional, career-oriented, and applied programs. Displaying excellence in teaching, celebrating diversity, and engaging in service and outreach, CSU-Pueblo is distinguished by access, opportunity, and the overall quality of services provided to its students.