Colorado State University-Pueblo Announces 2012 Math Day Competition Results

Colorado State University-Pueblo Announces 2012 Math Day Competition Results

PUEBLO - The Department of Mathematics and Physics at Colorado State University-Pueblo has announced the results from the 35nd  Annual Math Day Swanson and Math Bowl competitions, held on campus Thursday, Nov. 15. More than 250 students from 21 high schools participated in Math Day activities, including Air Academy, Antonito, Canon City, Pueblo Central, Coronado, Crowley County, Doherty, Pueblo East, Edison, Ellicott, Kim, La Junta, Pine Creek, Pueblo Centennial, Pueblo County, Pueblo West, Rampart, Rangely, Pueblo South, Swink, and Trinidad.

CSU-Pueblo Math Professor Janet Nichols was honored with a plaque and flowers for coordinating all 35 of the Math Day events.  In addition to participating in the competitions, students were able to visit biology, chemistry, engineering, physics, and physiology laboratories and demonstrations.

The Math Bowl Competition requires two three-person teams to go head-to-head in a 15-minute race for points.  Each team alternately is given a mathematical question and has 25 seconds to respond.  The team with the most points then goes to the semi-final round to determine the winner. Winning teams proceed through the bracket to the final round.

The 2012 Math Bowl winner is Ellicott, featuring team members Adam Moser, Angela Moser, and James Davis.  Rampart placed second with team members Forest Kunkel, Yue Niu, and Kellen Malone.  Semifinalists were Air Academy High School with team members Elisabeth Bernstka, Tyler Mercer, and David Rincon-Cruz, and Swink High School with team members Lauren Ritter, Mark Johnson, and Bryan Denton.  Consolation went to Coronado High School with team members Jacob Carson, Sara Del Valle, and Basia Kania.

The Swanson Competition was named after Clarence Swanson, a long-time chair of the math department.  The in-depth, problem-solving, written test offers students from Southern Colorado high schools the opportunity to vie for six trophies.  Of the 191 students to take the exam, the top six contestants are listed below in rank order with the highest listed first followed by the student’s high school:
1.  Yue Nie                       Rampart High School
2.  David Rincon-Cruz       Air Academy High School
3.  Tyler Mercer                Air Academy High School
4.  Noah Remillard            Canon City High School
5.  Adam Moser                Ellicott High School
6.  Charles Lucero            Pueblo South High School

The following Swanson Competition contestants earned honorable mention.  The students are listed by home town, then alphabetically by last name followed by their high schools:

Canon City
Seungjeong Park              Canon City High School

Colorado Springs
Jacob Carson                   Coronado High School
Connor Holmes                Pine Creek High School
Forest Kunkel                   Rampart High School
Amanda McGann              Doherty High School
Cam Nguhen                    Doherty High School
Sebastian Rowe                Edison Jr/Sr High School

La Junta
Seth Nixon                       La Junta High School   
Michael Rees                    La Junta High School       

Julius Chi                         Pueblo Centennial
Michael Krause                 Pueblo Centennial
Daniel Otter                     Pueblo Centennial
Dominiquo Santistevan     Pueblo South
Brandi Thomas                 Pueblo South

Mark Johnson                   Swink High School

Jonathon Baroz                Trinidad High School

Colorado State University - Pueblo is a regional, comprehensive university emphasizing professional, career-oriented, and applied programs. Displaying excellence in teaching, celebrating diversity, and engaging in service and outreach, CSU-Pueblo is distinguished by access, opportunity, and the overall quality of services provided to its students.