Colorado State University – Pueblo honors area educators at annual teacher celebration

Colorado State University – Pueblo honors area educators at annual teacher celebration 

PUEBLO – More than 120 individuals honored 14 teachers from throughout Southern Colorado on May 22 as part of the 11th annual teacher celebration sponsored by the Southern Colorado Teacher Education Alliance at Colorado State University - Pueblo.

The celebration originated from an idea by future teacher groups at Pueblo Community College and Colorado State University – Pueblo and has grown into an Annual Teacher Celebration: Teachers Plant the Seeds of Knowledge! Students from grades 5, 8, and 12 in area school districts were encouraged to write a letter about their most inspiring teacher. Hundreds of students from these districts wrote letters recognizing the teachers who have made a difference in their lives.  A selection committee of CSU-Pueblo pre-service teachers read all letters and chose the 14 teachers that were honored. Excerpts from these letters were read at the teacher celebration, and teachers and students received bound volumes of all winning entrees and certificates acknowledging the award.

The honored teachers, the schools where they teach, and the student nominators were: 

Canon City Schools

• Julia Zamarripa, teacher at Mountain View Core Knowledge Charter, recognized by Annie Ernster

Chaffee County School District

• Lana Ogden, teacher at TLC Christian School, recognized by Lauren Buss

Crowley School District RE-1J

• Karen Gleason, teacher at Crowley County Elementary, recognized by Alex Bauer

East Otero RE-1 School District

• Aaron Olivieri, teacher at La Junta Intermediate, recognized by Jessica Licano

Fountain-Ft Carson School District

• Tamera Johnson, teacher at Mountainside Elementary, recognized by Sierrenamarie Siguenza-Antur

Jefferson County RE-1 School District

• Jo Childers, teacher at Lawrence Elementary, recognized by Megan Starling

Pueblo City Schools

• Don Contreras, teacher at Eva Baca Elementary, recognized by Rudolph Vasquez

• Gerald Madrid, ESS Aide at Bradford Elementary, recognized by Robert Rivas

• Katherine Vannelli, teacher at Carlile Elementary, recognized by Riley Lerille

Pueblo School District 70

• Peggy Florom, teacher at Sierra Vista Elementary, recognized by Mikelah Suzuki

• Connie Prewitt, teacher at Desert Sage Elementary, recognized by Jenna Firkins

• April Abril, teacher at Rye Elementary, recognized by Maggie Peters

• Julie Griego, counselor at Vineland Middle, recognized by Jolene Norton

• Candice Musso, teacher at Pleasant View Middle School, recognized by Madison Price

Colorado State University - Pueblo is a regional, comprehensive university emphasizing professional, career-oriented, and applied programs. Displaying excellence in teaching, celebrating diversity, and engaging in service and outreach, CSU-Pueblo is distinguished by access, opportunity, and the overall quality of services provided to its students.