Colorado State University - Pueblo announces 2011 Math Day Competition Results

Colorado State University - Pueblo announces 2011 Math Day Competition Results

PUEBLO, CO - The Department of Mathematics and Physics at Colorado State University - Pueblo has announced the results from the 34th Annual Math Day Swanson and Math Bowl competitions, held on campus Thursday, November 17. More than 200 students from 18 high schools participated in Math Day activities: Air Academy, Campo, Canon City, Centennial (San Luis), Center, Pueblo Central, Coronado, Doherty, Ellicott, Kim, La Junta, Pine Creek High School, Pritchett, Pueblo Centennial, Southern Colorado Early College, Swink, Trinidad, and Widefield. Black Hills Energy provided financial support for this year’s event.

The Math Bowl Competition requires two three-person teams to go head-to-head in a 15-minute race for points. Each team is alternately given a mathematical question and has 25 seconds to respond. Teams work their way through the winner and/or consolation brackets.

The 2011 Math Bowl winner is Doherty High School, featuring team members Gunnar Hodlund, Keegan Shry, and Steven Hannenberg.  La Junta High School placed second in the competition with team members Michael Rees, Kiel Heerding, and Steven Sandoval. Semifinalists were Swink High School with team members Andrew Bartolo, AJ Brown, and Coltin Grasmick
 and Canon City High School with team members Noah Remillard, Jacob Kwitek, and Seungjeong Park. Consolation went to Trinidad High School with team members Jayson Render, Jonothan Baroz, and Nick Ruybald.

The Swanson Competition was named after Clarence Swanson, a long-time chair of the math department. The in-depth, problem-solving, written test offers students from Southern Colorado high schools the opportunity to vie for six trophies. The top six contestants are listed below in rank order with the highest listed first followed by the student’s high school.

1.  Noah Remillard                    Canon City High School

2.  Steven Hannenberg                Doherty High School

3.  Adam Moser                    Ellicott High School

4.  Joseph Stringer                    Canon City High School

5.  James Davis                    Ellicott High School

6.  Jacob Carson                    Coronado High School

The following Swanson Competition contestants earned honorable mention. The students are listed by home town, then alphabetically by last name followed by their high schools.

Canon City
Seungjeong Park, Canon City High School
Nasir Rabbani, Canon City High School

Colorado Springs
Gunnar Hoglund, Doherty High School
Keegan Shry, Doherty High School
Patrick Day, Pine Creek High School
Austin Cole, Air Academy
Dustin Burchett, WideField High School
Rachel Phillips, Widefield High School

La Junta
Kiel Heerding, La Junta High School
Alex Kneedler, La Junta High School
Seth Nixon, La Junta High School

AJ Brown, Swink High School

Colorado State University - Pueblo is a regional, comprehensive university emphasizing professional, career-oriented, and applied programs. Displaying excellence in teaching, celebrating diversity, and engaging in service and outreach, CSU-Pueblo is distinguished by access, opportunity, and the overall quality of services provided to its students.