Colorado State University-Pueblo hosts Engineering Science and Technology Design Contest

Colorado State University-Pueblo hosts Engineering Science and Technology Design Contest
PUEBLO – Colorado Springs Wasson High School and Fountain Middle School will attempt to hold on to their traveling trophies as champions of the 2010 Colorado State University - Pueblo Engineering, Science and Technology Design Contest.  Approximately 300 students from seven high schools and nine middle schools are registered to participate in the 17th Annual Design Contest will take place in the Occhiato University Center and the Technology Building on the CSU-Pueblo campus on Saturday (March 12).  The students have been organized into 180 teams for the seven-event competition that challenges students’ critical thinking, teamwork, and creative design skills.

Five different individual competitions, requiring prior designs, evaluate student-produced projects in areas like mousetrap cars and catapults, concrete barge, bridge building, and on-site construction.  Student-built projects are tested against specific performance criteria.  Two additional impromptu strategy events further test students’ ability to communicate, problem solve, and rapidly construct workable solutions when presented with challenges the day of the competition.

Teams will test their designs and strategies for the final competition on Saturday from 9 a.m. to 3 p.m.  During the competition, two- and three-member teams compete for the top three places in seven individual events in both middle and high school divisions, as well as for overall middle and high school team awards. Traveling trophies have been established for the top schools in the two categories.  Wasson High School and Fountain Middle School will be returning to defend their titles at the 2010 event. Top finishers receive technical calculators and other prizes.

Participating high schools include Alamosa, Colorado Springs’ Doherty and Wasson, Denver’s Jefferson and Westminster, Pueblo East, and the Pueblo School of Engineering and Biological Science.  Middle schools registering teams include Branson, Fountain, Fruita, Pueblo Heaton, Trinidad, and four middle schools from Colorado Springs:  Jack Swigert, Jenkins, Russell, and Sabin.

Faculty and student clubs within the CSU – Pueblo College of Education, Engineering, and Professional Studies will conduct the event, which is sponsored and supported by numerous local businesses and a Department of Education grant.

For more information, contact Dr. George Dallam, competition chair, at 719-549-2619 or Dr. Hector Carrasco, dean of the College of Education, Engineering and Professional Studies, at 719-549-2696.

Colorado State University - Pueblo is a regional, comprehensive university emphasizing professional, career-oriented, and applied programs. Displaying excellence in teaching, celebrating diversity, and engaging in service and outreach, CSU-Pueblo is distinguished by access, opportunity, and the overall quality of services provided to its students.