Colorado State University - Pueblo hosts Community College Day with the ThunderWolves

Colorado State University - Pueblo hosts Community College Day with the ThunderWolves

PUEBLO -Students from five Southern Colorado community colleges are welcome to free ThunderHill tickets to the CSU-Pueblo football game versus University of Nebraska-Kearney on Saturday, Oct. 16 and will be treated to a free t-shirt, free admission to Alumni Tailgate, and a gift pack. 

Students from Lamar Community College, Otero Junior College, Pikes Peak Community College, Pueblo Community College, and Trinidad State Junior College can receive up to two Thunderhill tickets for the 2 p.m. football game at the red tailgate tent near the Neta and Eddie DeRose ThunderBowl Stadium beginning at 12:30 p.m.  There, students will obtain their tickets (student identification required), free shirt, food and drinks, and a giveaway packet. Students also may submit an entry for a drawing for $500 scholarship in the form of a 529 savings plan thanks to College in Colorado.

Reservations are not required, but questions may be directed to the Southern Colorado Educational Opportunity Center (SCEOC) on each of the campuses, visiting CSU-Pueblo Office of Admissions representatives, or by calling at 719-549-2418.

CSU-Pueblo and the five community colleges are part of the 10-member Southern Colorado Education Collaboration, which aims to build a culture that encourages southern Colorado residents to pursue associate’s, bachelor’s and graduate degrees , enhancing cooperation between two- and four-year schools to increase student transfer, establishing a collective voice for higher education in the region, and improving K-12 partnerships, teacher training, workforce training, research opportunities and financial support for higher education.

In late July, CSU-Pueblo President Joe Garcia, Colorado Governor Bill Ritter, University-Pueblo Nancy McCallin, president of the Colorado Community College System (CCCS), and presidents or representatives from 15 Colorado community colleges gathered for a ceremonial signing of articulation agreements between the University and the community colleges. The agreements cover all 28 CSU-Pueblo majors based on the programs offered at each community college, which results in approximately 50 agreements for each of the 15 community colleges, or a total of 750-760 individual agreements.

Agreements were approved between CSU-Pueblo and Aims Community College, Arapahoe Community College, Colorado Mountain College, Colorado Northwestern Community College, Community College of Aurora, Community College of Denver, Front Range Community College, Lamar Community College, Northeastern Community College, Otero Junior College, Pikes Peak Community College, Pueblo Community College, Red Rocks Community College, and Trinidad State Junior College.

Community college students from these institutions are now certain that the classes they take for their degree of choice is transferable, meaning fewer lapses in course study completion and wasted credit hours on courses that won’t count toward graduation requirements CSU-pueblo is proud to be the only University in the state and one of few nationally that has articulated every major from its primary transfer institutions with corresponding CSU-Pueblo majors.
Also this summer, the University announced its Commitment to Colorado, which guarantees that beginning in Fall of 2011, the University will assure that all admitted, full-time Colorado resident undergraduates with a family adjusted gross income of $50,000 or less who receive a Pell grant will receive financial aid grants sufficient to cover tuition and mandatory fees.  Additionally, the University offers significant tuition savings for resident and non-resident students who stay in campus residence halls.

Colorado State University - Pueblo is a regional, comprehensive university emphasizing professional, career-oriented, and applied programs. Displaying excellence in teaching, celebrating diversity, and engaging in service and outreach, CSU-Pueblo is distinguished by access, opportunity, and the overall quality of services provided to its students.