Colorado State University - Pueblo welcomes Governor, CC presidents for signing event

Colorado State University - Pueblo welcomes Governor, CC presidents for signing event

PUEBLO – Colorado Governor Bill Ritter will join Colorado State University-Pueblo President Joe Garcia, Nancy McCallin, president of the Colorado Community College System (CCCS), and presidents or representatives from 15 Colorado community colleges this Friday at a ceremonial signing of articulation agreements between the University and the community colleges. The University/community college transfer Agreement Signing Ceremony will begin at  10 a.m. on Friday, July 30 in the Occhiato University Center Hearthwell Lounge.

CSU-Pueblo is the only University in the state and one of few nationally that has articulated every major from its primary transfer institutions with corresponding CSU-Pueblo majors. The University signed its first agreement last April with Pueblo Community College and will renew that agreement as part of the event.

Assistant Vice President of Enrollment Management Joe Marshall has personally visited each of the community colleges to deliver the agreements, which were finalized after CSU-Pueblo faculty drafted draft agreements. Marshall said the accomplishment represented by the signing ceremony is a testimony to faculty cooperation across the higher education segments.
Ninety percent of the agreements were accepted without change by the community colleges.

Marshall said transfer students will no longer have to guess what courses to take for their degree of choice because their course of study will be spelled out for them, meaning far fewer missteps and wasted credit hours on courses that won’t count toward graduation requirements. The agreements also will indirectly save the amount of state dollars that are provided to the students through the College Opportunity Fund.   
“This will be a great day for Colorado transfer students,” Marshall said. “This translates to less time to a terminal degree, less cost, and less waste overall in unnecessary dollars spent to earn a degree.”

"The promise of a community college education as a pathway to a bachelor's degree is only realized when we make it possible for students to successfully and easily transfer their community college credits so that they can complete their chosen field of study quickly and efficiently,” Garcia said.  “These agreements will allow community college students to do so if they choose CSU-Pueblo as the institution at which they will complete their degree."

Agreements have been approved between CSU-Pueblo and Aims Community College, Arapahoe Community College, Colorado Mountain College, Colorado Northwestern Community College, Community College of Aurora, Community College of Denver, Front Range Community College, Lamar Community College, Northeastern Community College, Otero Junior College, Pikes Peak Community College, Pueblo Community College, Red Rocks Community College, and Trinidad State Junior College.

Marshall disagreed with public opinion that such articulated efforts should be legislated.

“CSU-Pueblo has proven that it doesn’t take legislation but rather the will to do what’s right for students. CSU-Pueblo faculty have shown that will,” he said.  

The agreements cover all 28 CSU-Pueblo majors based on the programs offered at each community college, which results in approximately 50 agreements for each of the 15 community colleges, or a total of 750-760 individual agreements.

Complete agreements will be posted on the following web site immediate following the signing ceremony:


Colorado State University - Pueblo is a regional, comprehensive university emphasizing professional, career-oriented, and applied programs. Displaying excellence in teaching, celebrating diversity, and engaging in service and outreach, CSU-Pueblo is distinguished by access, opportunity, and the overall quality of services provided to its students.