Colorado State University – Pueblo honors area educators at annual teacher celebration

Colorado State University – Pueblo honors area educators at annual teacher celebration  

PUEBLO – More than 130 individuals honored 13 teachers from throughout Southern Colorado on May 2 as part of the 10th annual teacher celebration sponsored by the Southern Colorado Teacher Education Alliance at Colorado State University - Pueblo.

The idea for the celebration originated with future teacher groups at Pueblo Community College and Colorado State University – Pueblo and has grown to the current 10th Annual Teacher Celebration: Teachers Plant the Seeds of Knowledge! Students from grades 5, 8, and 12 in area school districts were encouraged to write a letter about their most inspiring teacher. Hundreds of students from these districts wrote letters recognizing the teachers who have made a difference in their lives.  A selection committee of CSU-Pueblo pre-service teachers read all letters and chose the 13 teachers that were honored. Excerpts from these letters were read at the teacher celebration, and teachers and students received bound volumes of all winning entrees and certificates acknowledging the award.

The honored teachers, the schools where they teach, and the students who nominated them were: 

Cheraw School District 31

 Ms. Kristi Mayo, Business and Technology Teacher at Cheraw Schools, Kara Fellhauer, 12th Grade Student,

Fountain - Fort Carson School District 8

Ms. Lisa Bizzell, 5th  Grade Teacher at Mountainside Elementary, Radaysia Miles, 5th Grade Student

Mr. Stephen Myers, Music Teacher at Carson Middle School, Darrand Williams, 8th Grade Student

Fowler School District R4-J

Ms, Star Flanscha, 4th Grade Teacher at Fowler Elementary school, Maggie Goodwin, 5th Grade Student

Fremont RE-1 School District

Ms. Julia Zamarripa, 4th Grade Teacher at Mount View Core Knowledge Charter School, Ellie Enderle, 5th Grade Student

Fremont RE-2 School District

Mr. Rick Sutton, 4th Grade Teacher at Fremont Elementary, Bailey Heard, 5th Grade Student

Fremont RE-3 School District

Ms. Jackie Crabtree, a Title I Teacher at Cotopaxi Schools,  Emily Krizmanich, 8th Grade Student

Ms. Linda Kramer, an English and Spanish Teacher at Cotopaxi High School, Cole Whitlow, 12th Grade Student

Mr. Scot Bingham, Music Teacher at Fruitvale Elementary School, Susie Lucero, Crowley County RE-IJ 5th Grade Student

La Veta RE-2 School District

 Ms. Marie Ortivez, 5th  Grade Teacher at La Veta Elementary School, Gabriella Lopez, 5th Grade Teacher

Pueblo City Schools

Ms. Brittney Brekke, Kindergarten Teacher, Morton Elementary School, Racquel Trujillo, 5th Grade Student 

Pueblo School District 70

Ms. Judy Brown, Retired Teacher (South Mesa, 3rd Grade), Maria Trujillo, 8th Grade Student

Widefield School District 3

Mr. Clint Owens, 4th  Grade Teacher, Pinello Elementary School, Isaiah Vargas, 5th Grade Student

Colorado State University - Pueblo is a regional, comprehensive university emphasizing professional, career-oriented, and applied programs. Displaying excellence in teaching, celebrating diversity, and engaging in service and outreach, CSU-Pueblo is distinguished by access, opportunity, and the overall quality of services provided to its students.