Colorado State University - Pueblo inducts 19 students into Phi Kappa Phi Honor Society

Colorado State University - Pueblo  inducts 19 students into Phi Kappa Phi Honor Society

PUEBLO – Nineteen Colorado State University – Pueblo students and four faculty, including President Joseph Garcia, were inducted into the Honor Society of Phi Kappa Phi in a ceremony on April 22.

Founded in 1897 at the University of Maine, Phi Kappa Phi is the nation’s oldest, largest, and most selective all-discipline honor society. The Society’s mission is “to encourage, recognize, and promote superior scholarship in all fields of higher education and to engage the community of scholars in service to others.”

The CSU-Pueblo Phi Kappa Phi Charter was approved by the national organization on Oct. 21, 1994, with the first initiation ceremony on April 10, 1995.

The organization is comprised of nearly 300 chapters located in the United States, Puerto Rico, and the Philippines, which together induct more than 30,000 members each year. Since the organization’s inception in 1897, more than one million scholars have joined the prestigious organization.

The standards for election to Phi Kappa Phi are higher than those of most other honor societies. Phi Kappa Phi elects to membership undergraduate and graduate students, faculty, and alumni. Undergraduate students are selected from the upper 10 percent of the senior class and the graduate level, and the upper 7.5 percent of the junior class. To be eligible, students must have completed at least 24 credit hours at CSU-Pueblo. In addition, juniors must be “last term” juniors, having completed a total of at least 72 credit hours of course work. Election to membership is by invitation only. Each chapter screens juniors, seniors, and graduate students for membership based upon their grade point averages and good character. Those who meet the national requirements are invited.

The 2010 inductees to CSU-Pueblo Chapter of Phi Kappa Phi are:
Student Initiates
Jacquelyn Lilac Bottcher
David K. Drobny
Cheryl Lynn McDougall
Helena Lynne Stockman

Deana DaCosta-Thompson
 Sarah Evelyn Johnson
Taren Colleen Frazier

Jacqueline Lee Allee
Zachary C. Bratton
Brandon James Burke
Timothy Lee Cody
Erika L. Devins
Andrew L. Dixon
Kara Michelle Finger
Jaclyn Rose Gazette
Abbigail L. Johnson
Matthew M. Tolle
Kayla Wakefield

 Kiley Jo Draper
Faculty and Administration Initiates:

Joe Garcia,  President
Carol P. Foust, Professor, Exercise Science and Health Promotion
Jennifer Mullen, Professor, Mass Communications and Center for New Media
Leticia Lee Steffen, Assistant Professor, Mass Communications and Center for New Media

Colorado State University - Pueblo is a regional, comprehensive university emphasizing professional, career-oriented, and applied programs. Displaying excellence in teaching, celebrating diversity, and engaging in service and outreach, CSU-Pueblo is distinguished by access, opportunity, and the overall quality of services provided to its students.