Colorado State University - Pueblo business students inducted into Beta Gamma Sigma

Colorado State University - Pueblo business students inducted into Beta Gamma Sigma

PUEBLO – The Hasan School of Business (HSB) at Colorado State University-Pueblo will induct later this week 29 of its best students into Beta Gamma Sigma, an international honor society that recognizes the most outstanding students of business and management.

The 29 inductees will join an expanding worldwide network of more than 560,000 outstanding business professionals who have earned recognition through lifetime membership in Beta Gamma Sigma. Students ranking in the top 10 percent of the baccalaureate and top 20 percent of graduate programs at schools accredited by AACSB International, The Association to Advance Collegiate Schools of Business, are eligible.

With the expansion of accreditation by AACSB International, membership is no longer limited to those who have studied in the U.S. or Canada. Beta Gamma Sigma has installed collegiate chapters and inducted students on five continents. Since 1988, the Society and its member deans have awarded more than $1.2 million in scholarships to outstanding student members from around the world.

One inductee, Lee Meisner of Sterling, was selected by the HSB faculty and academic advisors for his superior performance in the study of business and will receive a $1,000 Beta Gamma Sigma scholarship to continue his education in 2010-11. A Sterling native, Meisner is the son of Richard and Roxana Meisner.

The following students will be inducted into the CSU-Pueblo chapter of Beta Gamma Sigma at the spring 2010 ceremony on Friday, April 30, in the Hasan School of Business Auditorium:

Joseph Bleichrodt, graduate student

Canon City
Staci Brady, junior
Shelbi Lee, junior
Steven Stiles, junior

Colorado Springs
Korakod Aphipanya, graduate student
Brenda Mariscal, senior
Sarah Miller, senior
Shannon Puckett, senior

Kezia Grenda, senior

Carl Fatta, junior
Brandon Shaw, junior
Daniel Spinuzzi, graduate student
Sujata Suryanarayanan, senior
Andrew Ritterling, junior

Pueblo West
Michael DiJoseph, senior
Tana Fowler, senior
Gregory Smith, graduate student

Lee Meisner, junior

Philipp Ecken, graduate student, Duesseldorf, Germany
Anubha Garg, graduate student, New Delhi, India
Patrick Horch, graduate student, Wolf, Germany
Verawith Kankirawatana, graduate student, Bangkok, Thailand
Markus Kreitmeyr, graduate student, Augsburg, Germany
Christoph Laut, graduate student, Buettelborn, Germany
Kevin Lukat, graduate student, Duisburg, Germany
Michael Schwittey, graduate student, Potsdam, Germany
Sara Spencer, graduate student, Zell-Barl, Germany
Marc Walgenbach, graduate student, Mainz, Germany
Thorsten Zeller, graduate student, Gau-Algesheim

Founded as a national organization in 1913, Beta Gamma Sigma was the first national honor society in business and was a merger of three separate societies established to honor academic
achievement in business at the University of Wisconsin, University of Illinois and the University
of California. The Society serves business schools accredited by AACSB International with a membership of more than 560,000 individuals.

Colorado State University - Pueblo is a regional, comprehensive university emphasizing professional, career-oriented, and applied programs. Displaying excellence in teaching, celebrating diversity, and engaging in service and outreach, CSU-Pueblo is distinguished by access, opportunity, and the overall quality of services provided to its students.