Colorado State University - Pueblo announces 2010 class of Kane Foundation Scholars

Colorado State University - Pueblo announces 2010 class of Kane Foundation Scholars

PUEBLO – Eight high-achieving students from Pueblo County high schools have earned the University’s most prestigious scholarship to pursue a bachelor’s degree at Colorado State University – Pueblo. President Joseph A. Garcia announced today the names of the eight students who make up the 2010 class of the Kane Family Scholars. Five of the eight students rank among the top 10 of their graduating classes. The program was made possible by the estate of the late Alexander “Andy” and Wanden Matthews Kane.

Students are selected based on their high school academic record, recommendations from their respective high schools (Centennial, Central, County, East, South, Pueblo West, and the Dolores Huerta Preparatory High School, Rye, and Pueblo Tech Academy), a written essay, and personal interview. As Kane Scholars, students will receive tuition for four years, books, and mandatory course fees toward pursuit of a bachelor’s degree. 

The students will be honored by CSU-Pueblo, the 2007-2009 Kane Scholars, as well as representatives from the Kane Family Foundation and the students’ respective high schools at a reception April 27 in the Occhiato University Center Hearthwell Lounge. For the first time, the reception also will honor Kane Scholars from the University of Colorado – Colorado Springs. 

The 2010 Kane Scholars at CSU-Pueblo are:
Jon-Michael Joseph Krasovic, Centennial High School; Bou AnnaMarie Amaya, Central High School; Jennifer Ann Rockwell, County High School; Samuel Joseph Sumeracki, Dolores Huerta Preparatory High; Jennifer Michelle Johnston, East High School; Jeffrey Paul Beach, Rye High School; Taylor Zachary Duncan, Pueblo West High School, and Cody Michael Saunders, South High School.

Jon-Michael Joseph Krasovic, Centennial High School. Krasovic seeks a biology (pre-medicine) degree with plans to specialize either in radiology or as an emergency room physician. A first-team All-State soccer player, Krasovic has agreed to join the Thunderwolf soccer program. In addition to participating in track and soccer, his extracurricular activities included FBLA, student government, and Spanish Club. In the community, he has been an active member of the Okalitza Tamburitzans, a Croatia folk music and dance group that has brought him significant international travel opportunities.    

Bou AnnaMarie Amaya, Central High School. Ranked number one in her graduating class, Amaya hopes to inspire students to work hard to achieve their goals as a high school mathematics teacher.  She also seeks to give back to the community that she says has
given her so much. For her extensive school and community involvement, she earned the Daughters of the American Revolution Good Citizens Award and Pueblo Masonic Lodges Junior Achievement Award. Her Slovenian heritage instilled in her the importance both of family and hard work.

Jennifer Ann Rockwell, County High School. Rockwell hopes to make a good education and healthy lifestyle something that every child desires by seeking a career in physical or health education.  She was a member of the state championship gymnastics team her freshman year and continued to compete both as a gymnast and cheerleader throughout high school. As a sophomore, she served as student body president.
Samuel Joseph Sumeracki, Dolores Huerta Preparatory High.  Sumeracki hopes to help people overcome their problems through pursuit of a doctoral degree in psychology. At DHPH, he has sought leadership opportunities both on and off campus, serving as student body president and an ambassador. He has participated in speech, drama, debate, and Japanese Club while volunteering at St. Marcy Corwin and working at J.C. Penney.  

Jennifer Michelle Johnston, East High School.  Johnston hopes to influence others in a positive fashion through the written word, seeking a degree in English/creative writing and a career as an author/editor of children’s or youth adult books. She has spent much time influencing youth through her church and through participation in 4-H as camp counselor and trainer.  Her participation at East has included both FBLA and Girls State. 

Jeffrey Paul Beach, Rye High School. Rye High School’s Student Body President, Beach seeks to make a positive difference in the lives of animals and their owners through pursuit of a degree in biology and a career as a veterinarian. He has been a working man since age 11, when he and his brother began a successful lawn service. His high school activities have included everything from Fellowship of Christian ThunderBolts, speech and debate, Spanish Club to Knowledge Bowl and Science Olympiad.

Taylor Zachary Duncan, Pueblo West High School. Duncan seeks a degree in biology (pre-med). His brother’s experience with open-heart surgery has inspired his dream to save lives as a surgeon, which brings a “spur of the moment, never dull” lifestyle that fits his personality. Life lessons and work ethic have come from many experiences, including a special needs brother and membership on the 2007 4A State Champion football team.

Cody Michael Saunders, South High School. Saunders will seek a degree in music performance and business management in pursuit of his dream to serve his community through the arts and a career in vocal performance and acting. He played the lead role in South’s production of Bye Bye Birdie last year and also had a lead role in the city-wide summer musical, Joseph and the Amazing Technicolor Dreamcoat. His tenacity has been inspired by his stepmother, who recently lost a two-year battle with cancer.  

Alexander Kane, a Fountain, Colo. native, died June 3, 2003. Wanden Kane, a two-time mayor of Fountain, died Feb. 3, 1991. The couple ran the Kane Ranch near Williams Creek. During their lifetimes, the Kanes helped many young people with the financing of their education and also contributed to research related to drug and alcohol addiction. Before his death, Kane established the Kane Family Foundation and directed the Foundation to provide funds for tuition, mandatory course fees, and books for eligible students. The gift allows CSU-Pueblo to present eight scholarships each year. Currently, the Kane Family Foundation also provides funding for 23 Kane Scholars and 17 additional merit-based scholarships to CSU-Pueblo students.    

Colorado State University - Pueblo is a regional, comprehensive university emphasizing professional, career-oriented, and applied programs. Displaying excellence in teaching, celebrating diversity, and engaging in service and outreach, CSU-Pueblo is distinguished by access, opportunity, and the overall quality of services provided to its students.