CSU System Board of Governors Moves Forward with National Search for a Permanent President of CSU-Pueblo

CSU System Board of Governors Moves Forward with National Search for a Permanent President of CSU-Pueblo
Board appoints search advisory committee

DENVER – Patrick McConathy, chair of the Colorado State University System Board of Governors, today announced the appointment of 10 individuals to serve on the CSU-Pueblo presidential search advisory committee that will help facilitate a search for a permanent president of the university. 

McConathy requested the CSU-Pueblo Faculty Senate, Associated Students’ Government and Classified Staff Council make recommendations of individuals who they thought would bring wisdom and perspectives of the diverse range of campus and community interests to the search advisory committee. Names were also recommended by the Pueblo community to serve on the committee. Over the last several weeks, McConathy carefully reviewed each recommendation before arriving at today’s announcement.

The committee was chosen to represent a balance of campus and community interests. Committee members serve on a voluntary basis without compensation. The committee, chaired by board member Dorothy Horrell, has: three members of the CSU System Board of Governors; five CSU-Pueblo campus representatives (two faculty members, one student, and one representative each from the classified staff and administrative professional staff), and two Pueblo community members. (A complete list is at the end of this release.)

At today’s meeting, McConathy expressed his deep appreciation for the committee’s time and commitment to the search, which will involve developing a list of potential candidates for a permanent president of CSU-Pueblo.

“The board and the chancellor are steadfast in supporting the search committee’s efforts to find the right individual who will keep the university on its positive trajectory,” McConathy said.

Tony Frank, president of CSU in Fort Collins, had been serving as the part-time interim president at CSU-Pueblo since September after Garcia took leave to campaign as lieutenant governor. On Nov. 3, Joe Garcia resigned as president of CSU-Pueblo, a day after he became lieutenant governor-elect when Democrat John Hickenlooper was elected governor.

The board on Wednesday praised Frank and thanked him for providing strong leadership as acting president of CSU-Pueblo until a full-time interim was on campus.

Currently, CSU-Pueblo is being led by interim president Julio Leon, who was appointed on Nov. 29.

“We are enormously grateful for the positive response from the campus and Pueblo community to for Dr. Leon,” said McConathy.

Over the next few weeks, the board will finalize the selection of a search firm to facilitate the process to find a permanent leader of CSU-Pueblo.

CSU System Board of Governors serving on the search advisory committee:

Dorothy Horrell (chair), Board member since 2010. Horrell is president of the Bonfils Stanton Foundation. She has served as president of the Colorado Community College System and president of Red Rocks Community College.

Mary Lou Makepeace (vice chair), Board member since 2010. Currently the vice president for Colorado programs of the Gay and Lesbian Fund, which is a part of the Gill Foundation.  She was the first female mayor of Colorado Springs and served from 1997-2003. 

Bonifacio Cosyleon, Board member since 2005. Cosyleon is president of Byerly and Cosyleon Inc. in Pueblo. He is a longtime member of the Greater Pueblo Chamber of Commerce and the Pueblo Economic Development Corp.

Advisory committee members:

Judy Baca, CSU-Pueblo faculty member
Katherine Frank, CSU-Pueblo faculty member
Geraldine Trujillo-Martinez, Director of Purchasing Department within the Finance and Administration Division at CSU-Pueblo
Tracy Samora, Director of Alumni Relations and Annual Fund (CSU-Pueblo alum)
Dawn DiPrince, CSU-Pueblo graduate student studying English
Ralph Williams, community member - Pueblo businessman, member of the CSU-Pueblo Foundation Board and a member of Friends of Football
Henry Roman, community member - former superintendent for Pueblo District 60

CSU System Board of Governors
The Colorado State University System Board of Governors voting members are appointed by the Governor, and confirmed by the State Senate, to serve up to two consecutive four-year terms. The board consists of nine voting members representing diverse backgrounds reflective of Colorado. These nine members each dedicate and volunteer their time to ensure effective management, accountability and responsible leadership of all the CSU System campuses – Fort Collins, Pueblo and the new online Global Campus.

Colorado State University - Pueblo is a regional, comprehensive university emphasizing professional, career-oriented, and applied programs. Displaying excellence in teaching, celebrating diversity, and engaging in service and outreach, CSU-Pueblo is distinguished by access, opportunity, and the overall quality of services provided to its students.