Colorado State University - Pueblo announces 33rd annual Math Day results

Colorado State University - Pueblo announces 33rd annual Math Day results

PUEBLO – The Department of Mathematics and Physics at Colorado State University-Pueblo has announced the results from the 33nd  Annual Math Day Swanson and Math Bowl competitions, held on campus Thursday, Nov. 18.

More than 200 students from the 23 schools that follow participated in Math Day activities: Air Academy, Antonito, Campo, Canon City, Centennial(San Luis), Center, Coronado, Doherty, Edison, Ellicott, Fountain Fort Carson, Kim, La Junta, Lewis Palmer,  Palmer,  Pine Creek, Pritchett, Pueblo Central, Pueblo Centennial, Rampart, Southern Colorado Early College,  Swink, and Widefield.

The Math Bowl Competition requires two three-person teams to go head-to-head in a 15-minute race for points.  Each team alternately is given a mathematical question and has 25 seconds to respond.  The team with the most points then goes to the next round.  Winning teams proceed through the bracket to the final round.

Student participants also were able to visit chemistry and biology laboratories. Students participated in demonstrations of properties of physics in the physics laboratories as well.

The 2010 Math Bowl winner is Air Academy, coached  by 1993 CSU-Pueblo graduate Barb Wilson, featuring team members Allan Gardner, David Bonney, and David Rincon-Cruz.  Swink placed second with team members  Charles Grossom, Josysa Gallegos, and Andy Bartolo. Semifinalists were Lewis-Palmer with team members Paulo Iza, Dejan Gvozdenac, and Parker Chambers, and Kim High School with team members Ann Hollingsworth, Logan Patterson, and Alexa Feemster. Consolation went to Palmer High School with team members Ryan Dewey, Josh Nuez, and Alyssa Soulvie.


The Swanson Competition was named after Clarence Swanson, a long-time chair of the math department.  The in-depth, problem-solving, written test offers students from Southern Colorado high schools the opportunity to vie for six trophies.  Of the 166 students to take the exam, the top six contestants are listed below in rank order with the highest listed first followed by the student’s high school:


1.  Allan Gardner                                                                 Air Academy High School


2.  Sebastian Rowe (8th Grader)                                        Edison High School


3.  Dejan Gvozdenac                                                          Lewis Palmer High School


4.  WooChul Han                                                                                Swink High School


5.  Adam Moser                                                                   Ellicott High School


6.  David Bonney                                                                                Air Academy High School


The following Swanson Competition contestants earned honorable mention.  The students are listed by home town, then alphabetically by last name followed by their high schools:


Canon City

Jeffrey Carlson                                                                                    Canon City High School

Dalton Eurek                                                                                        Canon City High School

Graham Harper                                                                                   Canon City High School

Colby McKibbin                                                                                  Canon City High School

Dillon McConnon


Colorado Springs

Nathan Lindeman                                                                                               Doherty High School

Caleb Smith                                                                                          Doherty High School         

Kit Lewis                                                                                               Fountain Fort Carson High School

Ryan Dewey                                                                                         Palmer High School

Justin Holmes                                                                                       Pine Creek High School

Everett Hildenbrandt                                                                          Pine Creek High School

Kyle Flanegin                                                                                       Rampart High School

La Junta

Michael Rees                                                                                        La Junta High School


Cinthia Cruz                                                                                         Centennial High School


John Balan                                                                                           Widefield High School

Dustin Burchett                                                                                    Widefield High School

Colorado State University - Pueblo is a regional, comprehensive university emphasizing professional, career-oriented, and applied programs. Displaying excellence in teaching, celebrating diversity, and engaging in service and outreach, CSU-Pueblo is distinguished by access, opportunity, and the overall quality of services provided to its students.