Colorado State University - Pueblo announces Blackwell President’s Leadership Award

Colorado State University - Pueblo announces Blackwell President’s Leadership Award

PUEBLO – Student leaders at Colorado State University-Pueblo will receive additional recognition and a cash award thanks to the generosity of the Blackwell and Titus families.

Homer Blackwell, Dennis Blackwell, and Janice Titus have established an endowed award, the Diane Blackwell President’s Leadership Award, to be presented annually to a student leader who “displays exceptional leadership skills, is very involved with the campus community, and contributes to make CSU-Pueblo a better place.”  The award honors the memory of Diane Karen Blackwell, who passed away in May of this year.

“My mom was an inspiration, my best friend,” said Janice Titus.  “She not only inspired me, but almost each and every person she came into contact with.  I would like her memory and legacy to continue to inspire our future leaders of America.”

The Diane Blackwell President’s Leadership Award will be presented to a student at the annual student leadership recognition ceremony in April/May.  The award will be given to an outstanding student leader from a pool of nominations.  Candidates for the award will have excelled as student leaders with a distinguished record of extraordinary service, spirit, advocacy and involvement within the University community.  Recipients will have a history of positive and significant accomplishments resulting in major contributions that enhance the quality of life at the University.  Other criteria for the award include being a current CSU-Pueblo student enrolled in six or more credit hours, junior class rank or higher, and a minimum cumulative GPA of 2.75 or above.
“Working with the Titus and Blackwell families to establish this generous endowment was a moving experience for me,” said DenaSue Potestio, president of the CSU-Pueblo Foundation.  “The purpose of the Diane Blackwell President’s Leadership Award is to inspire young people to become active and intelligent leaders, in the name and memory of a very special friend of CSU-Pueblo.  Diane is also the grandmother of two of our most outstanding current student leaders:  Steve Titus, 2nd term president of the Associated Students Government (ASG) and Britney Titus, ASG senator for Student Empowerment,” said Potestio.

If the recipient of the Diane Blackwell President’s Leadership Award is a graduating senior, this graduate will receive his/her diploma at the commencement ceremony in the Spring directly following the recipient of the Threlkeld Prize for Excellence, another prestigious University award.

Colorado State University - Pueblo is a regional, comprehensive university emphasizing professional, career-oriented, and applied programs. Displaying excellence in teaching, celebrating diversity, and engaging in service and outreach, CSU-Pueblo is distinguished by access, opportunity, and the overall quality of services provided to its students.