CSU–Pueblo Honors First-Year Students for Academic Excellence

Colorado State University – Pueblo will honor 43 outstanding first-year students from 2008- 09 on September 15 during an induction ceremony for Alpha Lambda Delta National Honors Society.

Established in 1924 by University of Illinois Dean of Women Maria Leonard, Alpha Lambda Delta National Honors Society is a national organization honor society for students who maintained a grade point average of 3.5 or higher and are in the top 20 percent of their class during their first term in higher education. Alpha Lambda Delta Honors Society “encourages superior academic achievement…to promote intelligent living and a continued high standard of learning, and to assist students in recognizing and developing meaningful goals for their unique roles in society.”  More information can be found at www.nationalald.org.

The ceremony will recognize students for their outstanding academic achievement at CSU – Pueblo. The ceremony will be held from 3:30-4 p.m. in the Occhiato University Center Ballroom with a reception following from 4-5 p.m.

“It is important for students who are doing well academically to be nationally recognized for their achievements,” said Dr. Derek Lopez, director of first-year programs. “It fosters continued excellence and reflects that the students at CSU – Pueblo are provided opportunities to succeed and rewards for doing so.”

The students being inducted are listed by state and hometown.

Alamosa-Stephanie Micklich

Arvada-Tara Lindsey-Chavez

Bennet-Gracie Gill

Boone-Brittney Whatley

Brighton-Rachel Sanchez

Canon City-Lia Fitzgerald, Jennifer Peschm, Collyn Rankin

Colorado City-Grogan Huff

Colorado Springs-Brady Evans, Jeremy Henry, Alisha Marquez, Heather Peebles, Jennifer Weldon

Craig-Justin Hadden

Denver-Andrew Fox

Eaton-Derek Maulsby

Fort Morgan-Sarah Carlson

Fountain-Wenonah Rosete

Holly-Emmie Malone

Keenesburg-Linea Gingerich

Pueblo-Vicki Boley, Aaron Fanning, William (Bill) Hanks, Kelsi Kovacich, Erica Leach, Joqualine Maruello, Lori McGrath, Adriana Padilla, Andrew Ritterling, Nick Sabye, Megan Sefcovic, Lindsay Tapia

Pueblo West-Jacob Eunice, Jitka McGivney, Lindsay Reeves

Salida-Martina Granzella

Trinidad-Tonya Arnold

Walsh-Kate Nicodemus

Peoria-Jake Blum

Rockford-Brittney Hunt

Raton-Megan Clark

Roy-Alissa Gregg

Colorado State University - Pueblo is a regional, comprehensive university emphasizing professional, career-oriented, and applied programs. Displaying excellence in teaching, celebrating diversity, and engaging in service and outreach, CSU-Pueblo is distinguished by access, opportunity, and the overall quality of services provided to its students.