CSU–Pueblo business students inducted into Beta Gamma Sigma

The Hasan School of Business (HSB) at Colorado State University-Pueblo will induct later this week 31 of its best students into Beta Gamma Sigma, an international honor society that recognizes the most outstanding students of business and management.

The 31 inductees will join an expanding worldwide network of more than 560,000 outstanding business professionals who have earned recognition through lifetime membership in Beta Gamma Sigma. Students ranking in the top 10 percent of the baccalaureate and top 20 percent of graduate programs at schools accredited by AACSB International, The Association to Advance Collegiate Schools of Business, are eligible.

With the expansion of accreditation by AACSB International, membership is no longer limited to those who have studied in the U.S. or Canada. Beta Gamma Sigma has installed collegiate chapters and inducted students on five continents.

One inductee, Edward Mayhoffer of La Junta, was selected by the HSB faculty and academic advisors for his superior performance in the study of business and will receive a $1,000 Beta Gamma Sigma scholarship to continue his education in 2009-10. Mayhoffer is the son of David and Tami Mayhoffer and a resident of La Junta. Since 1988, the Society and its member deans have awarded more than $1.2 million in scholarships to outstanding student members from around the world.

The following students will be inducted into the CSU-Pueblo chapter of Beta Gamma Sigma at the spring 2009 ceremony on Friday, May 1, in the Neta & Eddie DeRose ThunderBowl Fieldhouse:

Gracie Gill, junior

Colorado Springs
David Drobny, junior
Douglas Mattoon, senior

Travis Byrd, senior

La Junta
Michael Blair, graduate student
Lacie Hoskins, junior
Edward Mayhoffer, senior

Kendra Schomaker, junior

Morgan Stewart, junior

William Knicely, junior

Jacqueline Allee, junior
Andrew Dixon, junior
Lindsey Dougherty, graduate student
Jessica Garcia, junior
Henry Madrid, graduate student
Matthew Tolle, senior
Jose Vega, graduate student

Pueblo West
Jacob Eunice, junior
Erin Sneed, graduate student

Danielle Graham, junior

Christian Bechtoldt, graduate student, Bad Muenster, Germany
Finn Guenther, graduate student, Mainz, Germany
Matthias Hennig, graduate student, Elsterwerda, Germany
Jochen Jakoby, graduate student, Osann-Monzel, Germany
You-Cheong Lee, graduate student, Mainz, Germany
Dominik Rathgeb, graduate student, Stadecken-Elsheim, Germany
Sara Ropp, junior, Holland, MI
Daniel Schulze, graduate student, Augsburg Bayer, Germany
Katrin Stein, graduate student, Darmstadt, Germany
Julian Thiebes, graduate student, Mainz, Germany
Matthias Vogel, graduate student, Bodenmais, Germany

Founded as a national organization in 1913, Beta Gamma Sigma was the first national honor society in business and was a merger of three separate societies established to honor academic achievement in business at the University of Wisconsin, University of Illinois and the University of California. The Society serves business schools accredited by AACSB International with a membership of more than 560,000 individuals.

Colorado State University - Pueblo is a regional, comprehensive university emphasizing professional, career-oriented, and applied programs. Displaying excellence in teaching, celebrating diversity, and engaging in service and outreach, CSU-Pueblo is distinguished by access, opportunity, and the overall quality of services provided to its students.