CSU–Pueblo inducts 47 into Phi Kappa Phi Honor Society

Three Colorado State University – Pueblo Faculty members and 44 students were inducted into the Honor Society of Phi Kappa Phi at a ceremony on Thursday, April 16 in Life Sciences Auditorium 105. Dr. Russ Meyer, Provost and Chief Academic Officer, presented the keynote address.

Founded in 1897 at the University of Maine, Phi Kappa Phi is the nation’s oldest, largest, and most selective all-discipline honor society. The Society’s mission is to “encourage, recognize, and promote superior scholarship in all fields of higher education and to engage the community of scholars in service to others.” The CSU-Pueblo Phi Kappa Phi Charter was approved by the national organization on Oct. 21, 1994, with the first initiation ceremony on April 10, 1995.

The organization is comprised of nearly 300 chapters located in the United States, Puerto Rico, and the Philippines, which together induct more than 30,000 members each year. Since the organization’s inception in 1897, more than one million scholars have joined the prestigious organization.

The standards for election to Phi Kappa Phi are higher than those of most other honor societies. Phi Kappa Phi elects to membership undergraduate and graduate students, faculty, and alumni. Undergraduate students are selected from the upper 10 percent of the senior class and the graduate level, and the upper 7.5 percent of the junior class. To be eligible, students must have completed at least 24 credit hours at CSU-Pueblo. In addition, juniors must be “last term” juniors, having completed a total of at least 72 credit hours of course work. Election to membership is by invitation only. Each chapter screens juniors, seniors, and graduate students for membership based upon their grade point averages and good character. Those who meet the national requirements are invited.

The 2009 inductees to Phi Kappa Phi are:


Gill, Gracie Lea

Fletcher, Jene Marie

Canon City
Allen, Jaime Dawn
Fitzgerald, Lia

Colorado Springs
Beaubren, Tiffany Michelle
Canuel, Eric
Chitrakar, Rashik
Cummings, Annette Lee
Holling, Cheryl Shaw
Mattoon, Douglas Robert
Murphy, Susan Jean
Rizzo, Gina Marie

Arnold, Douglas Jeter

Ingram, Latonya Alicia
Price, Crystal Lynn
Ritchie, Kevin Scott

Manitou Springs
Bender, Linda K

Deffit, Sarah N
DeWeese, Brooke Nicole
Ehrman, Reyna Ashley
Flores, Michael C.
Hunt, Jodi Russa
Johnson, Lucas Tull
Miller, Tyricia Nicole
Mills, Heather Lynn
Morales, Patricia Rose
Pesch, Nathan Robert
Uhernik, Alyssa Ann
Van Riper, John Evan

Pueblo West
Jaumouille, Jason Victor
Romero, Desarae Lynn

Corradino, Laurie Jo

Witt, Anna L.

Graduate Students
Canon City
Goldman, Ann

Colorado Springs
Ballinger, Brandon Allen
Bracha, Christy Renee
Girard, Amanda Kaye
Sundermann, Rick L.

Beeman, LeAnndra
Eggert, Veronica Romero-Romo
Vidmar, Shawn
Wasil, Rebecca Yoder

DiPaolo, Angela Marie

London, OH
McDouble, Kaila A.H.

Katherine Frank, associate professor, English & Foreign Languages
Neb Jaksic, associate professor, engineering
Jude DePalma, associate professor, engineering

Colorado State University - Pueblo is a regional, comprehensive university emphasizing professional, career-oriented, and applied programs. Displaying excellence in teaching, celebrating diversity, and engaging in service and outreach, CSU-Pueblo is distinguished by access, opportunity, and the overall quality of services provided to its students.