CSU–Pueblo inducts 52 students into Phi Kappa Phi Honor Society

Fifty-two Colorado State University – Pueblo students and faculty were inducted into the Honor Society of Phi Kappa Phi in a ceremony on May 1.

Founded in 1897 at the University of Maine, Phi Kappa Phi is the nation’s oldest, largest, and most selective all-discipline honor society. The Society’s mission is “to encourage, recognize, and promote superior scholarship in al fields of higher education and to engage the community of scholars in service to others.”

The CSU-Pueblo Phi Kappa Phi Charter was approved by the national organization on Oct. 21, 1994, with the first initiation ceremony on April 10, 1995.

The organization is comprised of nearly 300 chapters located in the United States, Puerto Rico, and the Philippines, which together induct more than 30,000 members each year. Since the organization’s inception in 1897, more than one million scholars have joined the prestigious organization.

The standards for election to Phi Kappa Phi are higher than those of most other honor societies. Phi Kappa Phi elects to membership undergraduate and graduate students, faculty, and alumni. Undergraduate students are selected from the upper 10 percent of the senior class and the graduate level, and the upper 7.5 percent of the junior class. To be eligible, students must have completed at least 24 credit hours at CSU-Pueblo. In addition, juniors must be “last term” juniors, having completed a total of at least 72 credit hours of course work. Election to membership is by invitation only. Each chapter screens juniors, seniors, and graduate students for membership based upon their grade point averages and good character. Those who meet the national requirements are invited.

The 2008 inductees to Phi Kappa Phi are:

Student Initiates:

Jeffrey Johnson

Jessica Megan Ketcham --more--
Cheryl A. Harley

Angela M. Dykstra
Brande D. Ford
Bianca Chantel Graves
Andrew Ray Magalong
David Alan Murray Riddle
Shae A. Williams

Krystal D. Tezak

Kynna Yvonne Erps

Christine Elizabeth Kleinert

Brock James Falk

Timothy M. McCarthy

Rebecca S. Jenkins

Kristi J. Blasingame
Heather M. Boulier
Neely Rae Cardinal
Charity Jay Chavez
Evan Joel Crowley
Jessica Rae Dillow
Alexander J. Dunn
Shanna Marie Farmer
Natalie Gallegos
Patricia Grandieu-Diawara
Jess C. Haney
Bridger O. Harsch
Layne Christine Hendrex
Jeffrey Joseph Johnson
Amanda Rae Klimeck
Eric Andrew Lewis
Elizabeth M. Lyons
Amy Marie Maldonado
Julio C. Martinez, Jr.
Judith A. Martinez
Michelle R. Malloy
Hannah Marie Montoya
Jacob E. Niccoli
Rachel Dawn Oliva
Elayaraja Ponnuswamy
Megan Anne Richmond
Laura A. Rocha
Richard A. Rocha
Ryan Sandefur
Patrick Christopher Sheehan
RaeAnne Christine Short
Anna Lee Simpson
Amy Lynn Uhernick
Hollie E. Vigil
Daniel Graham-Brooks Wiley
Daniel J. Wunderlich

Yen-Wen Yang

Ashleigh Jean Ackerman

Marie Christina Richards

Faculty Initiates:
Dr. Samuel E. Ebersole, Mass Communications
Dr. Matthew L. Harris, History

Colorado State University - Pueblo is a regional, comprehensive university emphasizing professional, career-oriented, and applied programs. Displaying excellence in teaching, celebrating diversity, and engaging in service and outreach, CSU-Pueblo is distinguished by access, opportunity, and the overall quality of services provided to its students.