CSU–Pueblo Announces 2007 Math Day Competition Results

The Department of Mathematics and Physics at Colorado State University-Pueblo has announced the results from the 31st Annual Math Day Swanson and Math Bowl competitions, held on campus Thursday, Nov. 15.

More than 200 students from the following high schools participated in Math Day activities: Air Academy High School, Canon City High School, Centauri High School, Coronado High School, Doherty High School, Ellicott High School, John Mall High School, Kim High School, Lewis-Palmer High School, Liberty High School, Mesa Ridge High School, Pine Creek High School, Pueblo Centennial High School, Pueblo East High School, Pueblo South High School, Pueblo West High School, Rampart High School, Rangely High School, Rocky Ford High School, Swink High School, Wasson High School, Wasson High School. Student participants also were able to visit chemistry and biology laboratories.

The Math Bowl Competition requires two three-person teams to go head-to-head in a 15-minute race for points. Each team is alternately given a mathematical question and has 25 seconds to respond. The team with the most points then goes to the semi-final round to determine the winner.

The 2007 Math Bowl winner is Liberty High School, featuring team members Daniel Pascua, Maisy Wieman, and Christian Eron. Ellicott High School placed second with team members Brandon Schoenberg, Brent Roberts, and Journey Kaczon. Semifinalists were Pueblo’s Centennial High School with team members Sam Tucker, Paul Macias, and Mcian Amos and Rangely High School with team members Michael Morton, Robert Mackey, and Charli Gordon. Consolation went to Canon City High School with team members Hao Chen, Jeremy Carlson, and Alexandra Deary.

The Swanson Competition was named after Clarence Swanson, a long-time chair of the math department. The in-depth, problem-solving, written test offers students from Southern Colorado high schools the opportunity to vie for six trophies. The top six contestants are listed below in rank order with the highest listed first followed by the student’s high school:

1. Michael Morton, Rangely High School
2. Daniel Pascua, Liberty High School
3. Wenfei Du, Air Academy High School
4. Minh Ly, Doherty High School
5. Margaret Koehler, Lewis-Palmer High School
6. Dillon McElhinney, Air Academy High School

The following Swanson Competition contestants earned honorable mention. The students are listed by home town, then alphabetically by last name followed by their high schools:

Canon City
Jeremy Carlson, Canon City High School
Hao Chen, Canon City High School
Alexandra Deary, Canon City High School

Colorado Springs
Kali Allison, Coronado High School
Shannon Anderson, Pine Creek High School
Kelsey Brown, Coronado High School
Andrew Brunner, Pine Creek High School
Ashleigh Herd, Pine Creek High School
Peter Jaron, Coronado High School
Jeremy Johnson, Mesa Ridge High School
David Krough, Mesa Ridge High School
Nathan Lara, Air Academy High School
Angela Lawton, Air Academy High School
Lucy Lu, Pine Creek High School
Brian Nakayama, Doherty High School
Matt Nehls, Air Academy High School
Christian Pitera, Mesa Ridge High School
Scott Ritz, Pine Creek High School
Bradley Sturch, Doherty High School
Maisy Wieman, Liberty High School
Joseph Zhang, Pine Creek High School

McIan Amos, Pueblo Centennial High School
Robert King, Pueblo East High School
Paul Macias, Pueblo Centennial High School
Ross Snyder, Pueblo East High School

Colorado State University - Pueblo is a regional, comprehensive university emphasizing professional, career-oriented, and applied programs. Displaying excellence in teaching, celebrating diversity, and engaging in service and outreach, CSU-Pueblo is distinguished by access, opportunity, and the overall quality of services provided to its students.