CSU–Pueblo honors area educators at annual teacher celebration

More than 125 individuals honored 14 teachers from throughout Southern Colorado on May 6 as part of the 7th annual teacher celebration sponsored by the Southern Colorado Teacher Education Alliance at Colorado State University - Pueblo.

The celebration originated with the Pueblo Community College Future Educators Club and has grown to the current 7th Annual Teacher Celebration: Great Teachers Inspire the Minds of the Future! Students from grades 5, 8, and 12 in 17 partnership districts were encouraged to write a letter about their most inspiring teacher. Hundreds of students representing eight of the partnership districts recognized the teachers who have made a difference in their lives by writing letters. A selection committee of CSU-Pueblo pre-service teachers, led by Dr. John Ryan, read all letters and chose the teachers that were honored. Excerpts from these letters were read at the teacher celebration, and teachers and students received bound volumes of all winning entrees and certificates acknowledging the award.

The honored teachers, the schools where they teach, and the students who nominated them were:

Cotopaxi Consolidated Schools Fremont RE-3 
  • Mr. Corey Davidson, Primary Teacher, Douglas, WY Primary School,
    Juan Hernandez, 8th Grade, Cotopaxi Elementary
  • Mr. John Travis, K-6 PE Teacher, Chamberlin Elementary School,
    Tyler Weston, 12th Grade, Cotopaxi Consolidated School
    Crowley County School District RE-1J
    Ms. Lindsay Walter, 5th Grade Teacher, Ryan Haynes, 5th Grade, Crowley County Elementary

    Fowler R4J School District
  • Ms. Star Flanscha, 4th Grade Teacher, Fowler Elementary, Rhett Hinkle, 5th Grade
  • Mrs. Chelley Gardner-Smith, Ms. Germundson, Mr. David Valier – Team 731
    Mountain Ridge Middle School, Colorado Springs, Katie Anarde, 12th Grade, Fowler High School

    Fremont RE-2 School District
  • Mrs. Mary Chamberlain, 3rd - 5th Grade Teacher, Beth Farschon, 5th Grade, Fremont School

    La Veta RE-2 School District
  • Mrs. Marie Ortivez, 5th Grade Teacher, La veta Elementary School, Samantha Ridings, 5th Grade

    Pueblo City Schools
  • Mrs. Shannon Lane, 4th Grade Teacher, Carlile Elementary School, Celene Olguin, 5th Grade
  • Ms. Delma Cordova, 5th Grade Teacher, Bradford Elementary, School, Michellae Brown, 5th Grade
  • Ms. Nadine Montoya, Heritage Elementary School, GRADE??? Markita Martinez, 8th Grade

    Spann School
  • Mrs. Linda Veltri, 5th Grade Teacher, Belmont Elementary, Diane Kuan, 5th Grade
  • Mrs. Kelly Rutherford, 3rd Grade Teacher, Somerlid Elementary School, Daniel Vance, 8th Grade

    Pueblo School District 70
  • Mrs. Kristin Johnson, 1st and 2nd Grade Teacher, Prairie Winds Elementary School, Denise Adkins, 5th Grade,
    Rye Elementary School

    Trinidad School District 1
  • Mr. Joe DeAngelis, Science Teacher,Trinidad High School, Jennifer Bonato, 12th Grade

  • Colorado State University - Pueblo is a regional, comprehensive university emphasizing professional, career-oriented, and applied programs. Displaying excellence in teaching, celebrating diversity, and engaging in service and outreach, CSU-Pueblo is distinguished by access, opportunity, and the overall quality of services provided to its students.