CSU–Pueblo names 2007-08 President Leadership Program Class

Fifteen students have been named to the President’s Leadership Program (PLP) at Colorado State University – Pueblo. The students were selected by a committee of campus and community board members and students from the PLP program. PLP students receive $2,000 per year for up to four years and earn a minor in leadership studies.

Currently in its seventh year, the PLP program is one of nine schools to participate in the Colorado Leadership Alliance, a consortium of comprehensive leadership education programs at undergraduate institutions across Colorado. Through shared resources and collaborative efforts, CLA’s focus is to develop the next generation of Colorado's leaders. PLP develops and trains emerging leaders at CSU-Pueblo through a four – year academic leadership program focused on academic and experiential learning. Scholars are given opportunities to obtain leadership experience through mentoring, internships, etiquette training, and presentations by leaders in various fields from government and education to the service sectors.

Eligible candidates are graduating high school seniors who have a cumulative grade point average of 3.2 or higher and who display leadership potential, intellectual curiosity, and a commitment to something outside one’s self. PLP challenges participants to identify and engage in leadership issues facing Southern Colorado. Participants must retain no less than a 3.0 grade point average at CSU-Pueblo to maintain eligibility status.

The following students are members of the 2007-08 PLP freshmen class:

Audrey Duran Pueblo County High School
Jaclyn Gazette Pueblo Technical Academy
Amber Jones Pueblo West High School
Melissa Lujan Pueblo County High School
Ernest Maestas Pueblo East High School
Erica Montoya Pueblo South High School
Azalia Sais Pueblo Central High School
Kaitlyn Scoleri Pueblo County High School
Jessica Stecco Pueblo County High School
Samantha Sufian Pueblo Centennial High School

Deer Trail
Jeremiah Blaha Deer Trail High School

Andrew Johnson Loveland High School

Jessica Salazar Monte Vista High School

Amanda Sanchez Springfield High School

Rockford, IL
Jeff Hiltrop Boylan Catholic High School

Colorado State University - Pueblo is a regional, comprehensive university emphasizing professional, career-oriented, and applied programs. Displaying excellence in teaching, celebrating diversity, and engaging in service and outreach, CSU-Pueblo is distinguished by access, opportunity, and the overall quality of services provided to its students.