CSU–Pueblo inducts five into Phi Kappa Phi Honor Society

Three Colorado State University – Pueblo students and two faculty members will be inducted into the Honor Society of Phi Kappa Phi in a ceremony at 3 p.m. on Sunday, April 15, in Life Sciences Auditorium 105. Dr. David Sandoval, Professor of Chicano Studies/History, will present the keynote address.

Founded in 1897 at the University of Maine, Phi Kappa Phi is the nation’s oldest, largest, and most selective all-discipline honor society. The Society’s mission is to “encourage, recognize, and promote superior scholarship in all fields of higher education and to engage the community of scholars in service to others.” The CSU-Pueblo Phi Kappa Phi Charter was approved by the national organization on Oct. 21, 1994, with the first initiation ceremony on April 10, 1995.

The organization is comprised of nearly 300 chapters located in the United States, Puerto Rico, and the Philippines, which together induct more than 30,000 members each year. Since the organization’s inception in 1897, more than one million scholars have joined the prestigious organization.

The standards for election to Phi Kappa Phi are higher than those of most other honor societies. Phi Kappa Phi elects to membership undergraduate and graduate students, faculty, and alumni. Undergraduate students are selected from the upper 10 percent of the senior class and the graduate level, and the upper 7.5 percent of the junior class. To be eligible, students must have completed at least 24 credit hours at CSU-Pueblo. In addition, juniors must be “last term” juniors, having completed a total of at least 72 credit hours of course work. Election to membership is by invitation only. Each chapter screens juniors, seniors, and graduate students for membership based upon their grade point averages and good character. Those who meet the national requirements are invited.

The 2007 inductees to Phi Kappa Phi are:
Kari Cummings, senior Trinidad
Cole McGee, junior Pueblo
Maggie Hope Reineke, junior Rye

William Brown, associate professor, physics/physical science
Janna Mclean, associate professor, chair, biology

Colorado State University - Pueblo is a regional, comprehensive university emphasizing professional, career-oriented, and applied programs. Displaying excellence in teaching, celebrating diversity, and engaging in service and outreach, CSU-Pueblo is distinguished by access, opportunity, and the overall quality of services provided to its students.